Round the Island Race

Britain's favourite yacht race

Round The Island Race HKJ

What is it?

The Round the Island Race (RTIR), organised by the Island Sailing Club, is a one-day yacht race around the Isle of Wight (50 nautical mile course).  RTIR regularly attracts over 1,200 boats and approximately 10,000 sailors, making it one of the largest yacht races in the world!

Competitors come from all over the UK, other parts of Europe and as far away as the USA.  The race starts on the famous Royal Yacht Squadron line in Cowes, where the fleet of boats race westabout, to The Needles, round St Catherine’s Point and Bembridge Ledge buoy, and back into the Solent to the finish line at Cowes.

As a spectator, you can find plenty of vantage points, both on the mainland and the island itself, to watch the race progress. If you can’t watch in person, you can always keep an eye on the race’s progress on the website and social media.



What can you expect?

  • View the course map for useful information and handy vantage points
  • Cowes Race Village – Bars and Food Court
  • Live music and entertainment

When is it?

RTIR 2024 will take place on Saturday, 15th June.  The Island Sailing Club have organised the official Race Village, this year in partnership with B&G.   A perfect place to enjoy some drinks and food with the family or if entering the race, with your crew.

The village is free to enter and includes a large bar and food court offering a variety of options.





Where is Round the Island Race held?

Round the Island Race is organised by the Island Sailing Club and the heart of the race and entertainment is held in the Race Village, Cowes Yacht Haven, Isle of Wight

How many nautical miles is RTIR?

50 Nautical Miles

What is the current record time to completing the race?

3h 43m 50s for a monohull and 2h 22m 23s for a multihull.

When was the first Round the Island Race?

In 1930 Major Cyril Windeler suggested a handicap race around the Isle of Wight which catered for smaller boats. The first actual Round the Island Race took place in 1931 with 25 entries! Read more here

What is the main prize handed out?

There are approximately 100 trophies and cups awarded each year.  The most famous is the Gold Roman Bowl which is awarded to the overall winner of the race. Read more here